Are raisins fattening?

Raisins contain high amounts of sugar. Elevated sugar in the blood will initiate an insulin response that will store the excess sugar as fat. Raisins contain no fat except the negligible amount in some preparations from coatings in vegetable oil to keep raisins from sticking together.