What was the first living thing in space?

On Nov. 3, 1957, Russia launched the first-ever living animal into orbit: a dog named Laika, a stray from the streets of Moscow. The flight was meant to test the safety of space travel for humans, but it was a suicide mission for the dog, since technology hadn't advanced as far as the return trip.