What is witches butter?

Witch's Butter, scientific name Tremella mesenterica, is also called yellow brain, golden jelly fungus, & yellow trembler. It is an edible jelly fungus or mushroom. It has a bland flavor, & is added in cooking soups & stews. They grow on recently dead branches & can be up to 7.5cm or 3in in diameter