What color are fire hydrants?

State and municipal laws control the color of fire hydrants. Some are yellow. Some are white. Some are red.

---

The color of fire hydrants can vary depending on local regulations. The standards that are becoming common call for the body of the hydrant to be yellow (or red) for visibility. The top of the fire hydrant should be blue, green, orange or red to indicate water flow rate from highest to lowest.