What is an s. a. node?

S.A. Node or Sino Atrial Node is the natural pacemaker of our heart. It is present in the Right Atrium. It generates its own impulse and transfers it to all the parts of the heart. As it is a muscular tissue and generates its own impulses, the human heart is known to be myogenic in nature.

---

The SA (sinoatrial) node generates an electrical signal that causes the upper heart chambers (atria) to contract. The signal passes through the AV (atrioventricular) node to the lower heart chambers (ventricles), causing them to contract, or pump. The SA node is considered the heart’s pacemaker.