Which country has the most ancient history?

As it contains the earliest forms of writing, Iraq may be considered to have the longest history in the ancient era. Sumeria, in what is now southern Iraq, was the first society to create a writing system, which was adopted and adapted by subsequent peoples in the region for millennia.