What is the hydra?

The Hydra is a serpentine water monster in Greek & Roman mythology. It is sometimes depicted with nine heads (the actual number varies), one of which was immortal. Anyone who attempted to behead the Hydra found that as soon as one head was cut off, two more heads would emerge from the fresh wound.