What is shish kebab?

The term shish kebab comes from the Turkish words şiş kebap that mean "skewer" and "roast meat," A shish kebab typically consists of meat and vegetables on a skewer and is usually grilled. It can contain lamb, beef, fish, or chicken as well as vegetables like green peppers, onions, and mushrooms.