What happened to the man who put his head in a particle accelerator?

Anatoli Bugorski put his head into a 76 GeV beam of protons in 1978 at the Institute of High Energy Physics in Protvino, Russia. He saw a very bright flash and was expected to die, but survived with the left side of his face paralyzed, seizures, and no hearing in his left ear.