What is the earliest sunrise ever recorded?

Sunrise times vary with latitude. At 40 degrees north latitude – the latitude of, say, Philadelphia, the Mediterranean Sea, and northern Japan – the earliest sunrise of the year happens on or near June 14. Likewise, for that same latitude, the latest sunset of the year falls on or near June 27.