How long do you cook a three pound prime rib?

Make sure to let the prime rib warm to room temperature, which would take about 2 hours. Next, roast it in the oven at 450 degrees fahrenheit (232 degrees celsius) for 20 minutes. Finally, reduce the heat to 350 degrees fahrenheit (177 degrees celsius) and cook for 1 hour 15 minutes.