How long do you cook a three pound prime rib?

The most popular way to cook a prime rib is lower temp for longer time. Cook at 325 F or 165 C for 17 to 20 minutes per pound, for a 3 lb prime rib that would be 51 to 60 minutes. High heat method is 450 F (235 C) for 30 minutes, then reduce to 325 F and cook for 13 - 15 minutes per pound