Is pick up one word or two words?

Whether or not this is one or two words depends on the context. A pickup, one word, is a small truck or the act of collecting a person or goods in a vehicle. To pick up, two words, is to take hold of and lift or move someone or something. It can also be slang for getting someone to go on a date.