How many animals are there in california?

221 mammals: 181 terrestrial and 40 marine 673 birds with 2 endemic or unique to the territory, 11 introduced by man and 5 documented but of undetermined origin. 227 Reptiles and Amphibians with 22 of these brought in from elsewhere. All totaling 1,121 unique species in California.