What is the difference between black powder and smokeless powder?

Black powder was the first gun powder invented. Smokeless powder is a type of propellant used in firearms and artillery that produces less smoke and less fouling when fired compared to black powder. The combustion products are mainly gaseous, compared to around 55% solid products for black powder.