What is negative display?

Negative mode LCD means that the letter/characters are light colored and the background is dark. Negative mode LCD's must have a backlight ON to operate. Note: We do not recommend a negative mode monochrome LCD display in a battery application. The backlight can shorten the lifetime of your battery.