What was operation pluto?

Operation Pluto (which stands for Pipe-Lines Under The Ocean) was a Second World War operation by British scientists, oil companies and armed forces to construct undersea oil pipelines under the English Channel, between England and France, in support of the allied invasion of Normandy.