What is eggplant caponata?

Chef Paul says Eggplant caponata is a delicious relish or appetizer that can be served hot or cold. Its ingredients include: eggplant, salt, olive oil, celery, onion, garlic, plum tomatoes, green olives, capers, tomato paste, oregano, red wine vinegar, sugar, pepper, and parsley.