Where does vanilla bean grow?

Today, vanilla is grown commercially in Madagascar, Caribbean, Mexico, Comoro Islands, Indonesia, Hawaii, and Tahiti. The cultivation of vanilla is extremely labor-intensive. The plants themselves don't even start producing vanilla beans until after three years.

---

Madagascar and Indonesia produce two-thirds of the world's supply of vanilla.