What spice is similar to nutmeg?

Cinnamon is the most common substitute. You can even use ginger, mace, allspice or cloves as freshly grated nutmeg substitute. Pumpkin pie spice is a great substitute, if you run out of nutmeg while baking an apple pie.

---

Ground cinnamon is the most common substitute. While baking pumpkin pie spice can replace nutmeg as well.