Why was james madison called the father of the constitution?

James Madison is known as the Father of the Constitution because of his pivotal role in the document's drafting as well as its ratification. Madison also drafted the first 10 amendments -- the Bill of Rights. Another essay recounts Madison's experiences during the Constitutional Convention of 1787.