What's the difference between pinto beans and great northern beans?

Pinto beans and Great Northern beans are similar in flavor and consistency, and are both varieties of the common bean. Great Northern beans are large, off-white beans, closely related to the kidney bean, while pinto beans are typically pinkish before cooking and brown afterwards.