How many species of crocodilians are there?

There are 24 recognized species of extant crocodilians, divided into three Families - Alligatoridae (8 species; alligators and caimans), Crocodylidae (14 species; “true” crocodiles) and Gavialidae (2 species; Gharial and Tomistoma).