How long does it take to season firewood?

It takes 6 months to 2 years for split firewood to dry, for example tulip poplar, should be ready to burn in 6 months after it is split, a more dense wood such as oak, could take as long as two years before its ready. Firewood should have a moisture content of 20 % or less when properly seasoned.