Why is auburn university called the war eagles?

"War Eagle" is Auburn's battle cry, not a mascot or nickname. Auburn fans adopted the "War Eagle" phrase due to its connection with Saxon warriors who used the yell as their battle cry. When buzzards would circle the battlefields, settling among the dead, the Saxons began calling them "war eagles."