What happens when dogs eat garlic?

Garlic belongs to the Allium family (which also includes onion, chives, and leeks) and is poisonous to dogs and cats. Toxic doses of garlic can destroy red blood cells leading to anemia, and can cause GI upset like vomiting and diarrhea.