How long is the longest train in the world?

Officially, the longest train in the world is Australia's BHP Iron Ore train, which normally is 2.8km long but on at least one occasion stretched 7.3km. The longest regularly running trains belong to Canadian National Railway, which can reach up to 4.2km in length.

---

The Ghan is the world's longest passenger train in operation. Back in 1991 there was a passenger train created by the National Belgian Railway Company that measured 5,685ft, almost 1.1 miles, and consisted of 70 coaches pulled by one electric locomotive.