How many knots are there in the world?

There are thousands of knots used for special purposes or for decoration. However, you can overcome just about any knotty problem by knowing how to tie a half dozen or so: square knot, bowline, two half hitches, fisherman's knot, clove hitch, and figure 8 or stopper knot.