What is the book esperanza rising about?

Esperanza Rising is a young adult historical fiction novel written by Mexican-American author Pam Muñoz Ryan. In the book Esperanza Ortega has everything a girl could want. But a tragedy shatters her dream, forcing Esperanza and her mother to flee to Arvin, California and settle in a farm camp.

---

Esperanza Rising is the story of Esperanza Ortega, the cherished only child of her Papa and Mama, Sixto and Ramona. Sixto Ortega is the wealthy landowner of El Rancho de las Rosas in Aguascalientes, Mexico.