How much sunlight does basil need to grow?

Basil needs a warm and sunny spot to thrive. 6 to 8 hours of direct sunlight is perfect, though if you live in a really hot climate, you may want to give your basil some afternoon shade. The soil and air need to be fairly warm, so don't rush putting out your plants in the spring.