Why do guinea pigs lick?

There are 3 main reasons why guinea pigs lick themselves, Grooming, Bonding, Hierarchy. Guinea pigs groom their fur by licking it. They also establish their social harmony were the subordinate guinea pig will lick the dominant one. Guinea pigs also show their bonding by licking their owners.