How fast is the average dog?

Greyhounds are considered to be the fastest dog breed and can hit 45 mph at the top end. A number of breeds can reach 30+ mph, but the average, healthy house dog can typically reach 15-20 mph, depending on size, body shape, breed, leg length, age, health, and physical condition.