Where are dumplings from?

Dumplings are thought to have originated in the Eastern Han Dynasty over 1,800 years ago. According to legend, a man named Zhang Zhongjing recognized that the ears of many people were frostbitten during the winter. He developed the first dumplings, which were filled with mutton, chili and herbs.