Who is the first man to get to the north pole?

This has long been a matter of controversy and there are two contenders. Robert Peary indicated he had reached the North Pole on 6th April 1909, however Frederick Cook, claimed he had done the same, on 21st April 1908. Despite investigations into the claims, neither can be unquestionably proven.