What's the maximum you can collect on social security?

The maximum monthly Social Security benefit that an individual can receive per month in 2020 is $3,790 for someone who files at age 70. For someone at full retirement age the maximum amount is $3,011, and for someone aged 62 the maximum amount is $2,265.