Who made lego mario?

Lead designer, Jonathan Bennink took inspiration from the toys-to-life video game Lego Dimensions, but in reverse by bringing the video game to life using toys. The team also took inspiration from Super Mario Maker, of players constructing Mario levels and incorporating it into Lego building.