Why do birds attack other birds?

Male birds of the same species chase and attack each other in competition for territory, food, and mating rights. Some birds also attack others to defend their nests from predators and brood parasites. Birds of prey are often attacked by smaller birds trying to defend themselves.

---

There are three primary reasons; the birds attacked are prey species of bird’s of prey, to chase a predator away from other bird’s territory or nesting sites, for males of the species to gain mating rights for available females.