Why do dogs shave?

Single-coated dogs may benefit from having a professional groomer clip their coats occasionally to prevent matting and keep them cooler, but the coats should not be shaved down to the skin. It is best to leave at least one-inch of hair to protect them from sunburn, skin cancer, and from bug bites.