Why is everything chrome?

Many mechanical devices are made of steel, an Iron alloy with Carbon and other stuff added). Steel is strong, springy, and very cheap. However, it is rather dull gray, rusts easily and ugly. Plating steel parts with chrome protects them from corrosion and makes them pretty.