What is the midnight ride?

On the night of April 18, 1775, Paul Revere, along with William Dawes, set out from Boston to warn that the British were setting out for nearby Concord. The battles the next day began the American Revolution. A century later, Revere’s “midnight ride” was immortalized in an epic poem by Longfellow.