What's the difference between flat and satin paint?

The difference between flat and satin paint is the flat has no gloss, and satin sheen is a low gloss finish that has more shine than flat paint. From no gloss to high gloss, paint finishes fall in the following order: flat, eggshell, satin, semi-gloss, and high gloss.