Why is pennsylvania called a commonwealth?

Pennsylvania uses the designation commonwealth, similar to 3 other states, Kentucky, Massachusetts and Virginia. The distinction doesn’t mean they enjoy any special privileges, but simply means that they’ve adopted the British term for providing for the common good or common wealth of its citizens.