What is sherlock holmes day?

Elementary my dear Watson, it is a day to celebrate the most famous fictional detective in history.

---

Sherlock Holmes Day is a day to celebrate the iconic sleuth of fiction. If you investigate the details closely, you'll see that this is actually, the author's birthday, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, on May 22nd.