Do we lose an hour sleep?

The saying to remember is spring forward fall back. In some areas the time is adjusted back one hour in the fall which has the effect of giving you an extra hour of sleep. After the time change the sun will rise at a earlier time than before the time change. The opposite happens in the spring.