What is a food emulsifier?

Food emulsifiers are a variety of chemical additives which enable the suspension of one liquid within another. An example of emulsifier use would be in margarine, wherein oil and water are kept in suspension,. normally they would separate.

---

Emulsifying is the process of combining ingredients that normally don't mix well and stay together, such as "immiscible" food ingredients like oil and water. Food manufacturers add emulsifiers to foods to support their structure, texture, flavor, appearance, mouth feel and shelf life.