How big how are babies born?

While newborns vary in size and shape as much as adults do, full-term babies tend, on average, to weigh between 5 pounds, 11 ounces and 8 pounds, 6 ounces. They're usually between 19 and 21 inches long, with a head circumference of about 13 and one-half inches.