Why is it called kemps?

According to Kastner & Folkvord, Kemps originated in the French game, Carré-Coupé, based on the "technically more inventive" game of Ochseln. In English-speaking countries it spread under the name Kemps, thanks to it's rapid-pace and element of bluff, elements that reflect the zeitgeist of its time.