Can cats taste sweet things?

No. According to scientific American, cats lack the ability to taste sweets.

---

According to a report on NPR, Cats and possibly other carnivores simply cannot taste things the way that most species do. ... Scientists have discovered that cats are on a lifelong Atkins diet. Not only do they not eat carbohydrates, they can't even taste sweet things.