Can cats taste sweet things?

According to a report on NPR, Cats and possibly other carnivores simply cannot taste things the way that most species do. ... Scientists have discovered that cats are on a lifelong Atkins diet. Not only do they not eat carbohydrates, they can't even taste sweet things.