What's the difference between a commonwealth and a state?

The distinction is in name alone. The commonwealths are just like any other state in their politics and laws, and there is no difference in their relationship to the nation as a whole. When used to refer to U.S. states, there is no difference between a 'state' and a 'commonwealth'.