Did whoopi goldberg win an oscar for the color purple?

No. While she was nominated for Best Actress for her work in The Color Purple at the 1985 Academy Awards, she lost to Geraldine Page for her role in The Trip to Bountiful. Whoopi Goldberg would later win an Oscar for Best Supporting Actress at the 1990 Academy Awards for her role in Ghost.