How do you know if an apple pie is done?

Most say a pie is done if the crust is brown & the filling is bubbling. The truth is it needs to bubble for at least 6 to 10 minutes to properly cook the fruit. The only way to be sure is to stick a toothpick into the pie vents and check the texture of the slices. The pick should go through easily.